School Board

The School Board works alongside the school in a productive and supportive way. 

The Independent Public School (IPS) initiative is a State Government commitment to empower school communities by giving them greater capacity to shape the ethos, priorities and directions of their schools.  As an Independent Public School, a School Board was formed and is required to work in a consultative and decision making capacity with the school to achieve the best outcomes for students. The functions of the School Board are prescribed in the School Education Act 1999 and the School Education Regulations 2000, with the roles and responsibilities of the School Board clearly defined. The School Board participates in:

  • Endorsing of the Delivery and Performance Agreement;

  • Development and endorsement of the school’s Annual report;

  • Development, endorsement and review of the school budget and Business Plan;

  • Processes to review school performance, and

  • Processes to determine satisfaction levels of parents, staff and students, with results reported in the school’s annual report. 

Their responsibilities also involve: 

  • Establishing and reviewing the school’s objectives, priorities and policy directions;

  • Financial arrangements to fund those objectives;

  • Evaluating the school’s performance in achieving the objectives, and

  • Formulating codes of conduct for the students. 

The School Board does not: 

  • Manage the day to day running of the school;

  • Represent specific interest groups, or permit special interests dominating the agenda;

  • Intervene in the educational instruction of students, or

  • Performance manage the Principal or Staff.

2024 School Board Minutes


2023 School Board Minutes
School Board members


Board Chair

Parent Representative

Nick Raffan


School Representative

Nicole West

Parent Representative

Adam Tippman

School Representative

Peter Gilchrist 

Parent Representative

Brooke Arrowsmith 

School Representative

 Martin Strong

Parent Representative

Jessica Klaric 

School Representative

Sherdyne Sawyer 

Parent Representative

Elisabeth Noonan 

School Representative

Victoria Bingham

Parent Representative

Amy Berson

Community Representative

Dr Paula Mildenhall 

Total 12 members = 5 staff / 6 parents / 1 community member

Translate »